Fitness and Health

There are so many factors to take into consideration here when you are wanting to feel better and look better.  In the last 10 years I have to admit I lost control of it. It is so hot here and humid along with other factors that were beyond my control that it made it impossible for me to maintain my fitness level. Even inside the home, cause you really need it a certain temperature to exercise with out it getting to uncomfortable.

English: An audio cassette tape.

English: An audio cassette tape. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

All my tapes were tied up in cassettes and with out a good player and speakers it was also hard to play the music. This added factor helps you to stay with in a certain pace so that you are not over doing it. Beats per minute are taken into consideration here when programming a good recording. I did 30 some tapes back in the 80’s and used them often. All from beginner to advanced work outs.

I did my training back then and found out what it was like to rip calf muscles not fun at

Simon Fraser University plaque

Simon Fraser University plaque (Photo credit: BlueAndWhiteArmy)

all. I taught 3 morning programs(beginners), 3 before lunch(seniors) then onto the hospital to do 3 more for the nurses and doctors(inter-mediate) I got my YWCA certificate along with my BCFLC (British Columbia Fitness Leadership certificate. I was also doing correspondence classes through Simon Fraser for my certificate in Health and Fitness. Then I had 2 evening classes on the off days at the school gym (beginner – inter-mediate) Well if that wasn’t enough I added an advanced class right after that. After 6 weeks I had reached the burnout stage and

Cross-Country Skiing in Aspen, Colorado

Cross-Country Skiing in Aspen, Colorado (Photo credit: richpalpine)

dropped the advanced and the 3 at the hospital and stuck with beginners and intermediate. In the winter I finally went back down to only 3 in the morning and the 2 at night and was cross-country skiing 5-10 miles after my morning classes and sometimes on weekends but that was my fun time .. I also taught 8-13 year old kids to cross-country. We even participated in some tournaments which were a lot of fun too. The kids had a great time and we always had hot chocolate and a bon fire to warm up.

When I moved from there I still did my cross country and was involved in every kind of dance as well as teaching fitness classes for a studio. I was granted the AFLCA (Alberta Fitness Leadership Certificate Association ) in recognition of being certified in another Province. When my teaching ended there I continued to go and keep up my aerobics inside, outside and at friends homes. Did a lot of swimming. If you have a pool or are able to go to a public pool there are many exercises you can do in the pool as the water acts as a resistance making you use your muscles.  Dancing is another good way of keeping fit, if you pace yourself. Did this also on a regular basis up till mid 40’s when it all seemed to come to a gradual halt.

So now I am in very hot climate, Bike riding in the spring and fall, walking and doing all kinds of gardening chores. My knowledge in the area of fitness and health has helped me greatly in more ways then any one can imagine that has never done anything except sit on their duff watching TV and eating junk food. I’ve lost some of my strength due to not working those muscles I used to on a regular basis, but, I have never lost my flexibility, co-ordination and the sense of well being.

So with that said, I got a new toy on Friday and am very excited about it. A USB cassette tape converter to MP3 so over the weekend I was busy listening to all my old tapes and converting them to MP3’s so that I can listen to them and start exercising again. I did a workout this morning for 45 minutes and I feel marvelous.  I will keep you all updated in the coming weeks so this is the start of week 1.

The next thing I would like to do is make up an instructional video with the music attached so that others can join me as beginners. I am just starting out again so I am a beginner and I look at it that way. Stay tuned…

Leave a Reply

